Life · Parenting

Fireworks or Gunshots? 

Happy 4th of July to my American readers! We’re celebrating the holiday by spending time together with our son.

I remember a few years back, I was so excited to celebrate the 4th with my new husband and his family. We spent the day watching our hard earned cash blow up into quick flashes of lights. Later that night we sat on our third floor balcony with a perfect view of the city watching fireworks all over the sky. Adam and I had a perfect first Independence Day together.

Fast forward two years later to today, where we are home with our nine month old. Just last week I was headed to the DMV and noticed a large red and white tent set up in a shopping complex. At first I wondered, “why would they set up a circus in a parking lot, seems odd!” Then as I drove a bit further and saw the other side of the tent, an enormous sign for fireworks. Talk about awkward! Then the thought hit me, fireworks are allowed to be set off until 11PM during the week before the 4th. (Let’s be real, not everyone follows that rule!) I have a baby who goes to bed around 6PM and a 9PM bedtime myself. It’s going to be a long week!

Sure enough both Connor and I struggled to successfully get a good night of sleep.Some of our wonderful neighbors were setting fireworks off after midnight.  The first night I settled into bed only to be woken up by my heart pounding to loud noises; I first thought, GUNSHOTS! Then I realized it probably was just a firework. It has begun. I laid awake and struggled to fall back asleep.

Luckily, the plus side of being a part time stay at home mom is that I get to take a few naps during the day. Connor and I even took a 2.5 hour nap after a long night of being awoken by the thunderous booms. Funny how a holiday I use to love has turned more into a nuisance.
Around the usual bedtime I put Connor to sleep in his crib. I had the AC on and a fan going to mask the sounds outside. Adam and I sat outside like we use to the past few years and watched the fireworks surrounding our neighborhood. After twenty minutes passed, I went to check on Connor and sure enough he woke up, so I brought him outside on to the balcony. His eyes lit up when he saw the first flash. I’d love to know what he’s thinking!

I’m thankful that this year I got to spend the day with my boys; family means everything. I hope all of you have a happy and safe night!

Leave a Reply

