Life · Parenting

Anything But Simple- Birth Story Part 1 

Safe and Sound. / Photos by Liz
Over a few posts I’ll be sharing with you my birth story of Connor. I wish I could say I had a healthy simple pregnancy, but life loves to throw curveballs and simple was not the case at all.

I’d like to say I was one of those women who always knew I wanted to be a mom, but that wasn’t always the case. I had a few moments in my younger years where the thought of taking care of someone else other than myself seemed out of the question. Giving up the freedom to sleep in until noon or not being able to stay out all hours of the night seemed like too big of a sacrifice; I enjoyed my selfish nature.

Fast forward a few years later, I felt like something was missing in my life and I felt this yearning to have a child of my own. I’d seem mamas with their babies and I knew that I wanted to experience that. Thankfully my husband Adam, who already was a father to Brayden, also wanted to have another child.

Four months after our wedding we decided that it was the right time to add another child into our lives. Three months later I realized that I had missed my period, so I thought why not take a test! Adam and I drove to the grocery store after work and picked up a three pack of Clear Blue digital tests. I knew if I was going to take a test, I wanted an easy to read PREGNANT or NOT PREGNANT.

As soon as we got home I took a test. After a long two minute wait, I pulled Adam into the bathroom and we looked at the test. As I prepared for a negative answer, the test clearly read: PREGNANT. I felt my heart race and I couldn’t believe it! Seeing the results didn’t feel real, but it was right there in front of me.

First thing Adam said to me was, “You’re getting an epidural.” Not the response I was expecting but it gave me a good laugh. I called my grandmother and Adam called his mother with the news. From that day forward, life would never be the same; I’d finally get my dream of being a mother.

At eight weeks I had my very first appointment. The pregnancy was confirmed and we got to see our child for the first time! Seeing the little creature they called the baby on the screen made the pregnancy absolutely real. Week by week we started to prepare for the baby. We told all of our family and friends and announced the pregnancy on Facebook. I had a little bump right away; around 17 weeks it really took off. I started feeling flutters around then; it’s such an incredible feeling.

First picture!
At 20 weeks we went to get the gender confirmed. I was absolutely sure the baby was a girl! Nearly all of the old wives tales said we were expecting a daughter and that’s what I imagined my first child to be. When we started the anatomy ultrasound the tech said right away, “the baby is absolutely a boy!” I couldn’t believe it! We had girl names picked out; I had my eye on pink and frilly girl clothes. I wasn’t quite sure what I’d do with a girl.

The fact we were having a boy was exciting but seemed foreign to me. As we got closer to the end the fact we were going to have a son really grew on me, and we settled on the name Connor Dean.

Baby boy!

As I hit the third trimester my big belly was rapidly growing. At the time I was working for Costco so I was constantly on my swollen feet. I was working in my section of the store and I suddenly started feeling sharp pains followed by cramping. I had a feeling deep in my stomach that this was not normal at all. I called my husband to come pick me up and soon we rushed off to the women’s hospital nearby. Holding back tears on the way there, all I could do is pray that everything is okay-that this precious, healthy child I hope and prayed for was safe.

One thought on “Anything But Simple- Birth Story Part 1 

Leave a Reply

