Life

Twenty-Five Candles 

How is it possible that it’s already the end of July? Time has flown by but my favorite day of the month is tomorrow, my birthday! In honor of my twenty-five years on Earth I’ll share with you seven lesson I’ve learned in my years.

Barney was the best!
Always be five minutes early.

Better yet, make it ten. One of my pet peeves is meeting someone for lunch and they show up nearly a half hour late. I’m one of those people who get anxiety about getting stuck in traffic or missing out on events. I show up to work at least five to ten minutes early because of it. Even as a mother carrying around a ten month old I make an effort to be the first one when we are meeting up with family or friends.

Bad things happen to good people. Don’t let the word “victim” define you, rise above it. 

It’s so unfortunate that you can be the sweetest person in the world with the biggest heart and the worst situations can happen to you. I’m sorry if you’ve been a victim of a crime or have had your heartbroken. I’m not comfortable diving into my situation on here yet but with this advice I will say that letting awful things hang over your head can put a negative twist on your life. Find the strength to rise above. Discover whatever positive outlet you need to move forward.

Motherhood is the most rewarding yet exhausting experience in life. 

You’ll have so many new experiences- feeling emotions you’ve never felt before like falling in love with a stranger you’ve grown in your belly but are Just meeting for the first time. Catching vomit in your hands or possibly get poop on your face may occur. Sleeping in on the weekends won’t be an option like it has been in the past but waking up to your beautiful baby human makes every bit of it worth it. I’m one heck of an exhausted mama but having Connor has been such an incredible experience so far and he’s not even one yet!

You don’t have to give birth to a child to love them like your own. 

I have a fantastic bonus kid, Brayden. I first met him back when he was eleven months old; he had beautiful brown curls and was starting to walk. Fast forward to today where he just turned five last week. He’s such a smart kid and a loving brother to Connor. Seeing him grow up over the years has a blessing watching him sprout and learn. Even though I’m not his birth mother I love this kiddo like he’s my own and I’m excited to see what life brings him.

Before there were four!

Marry someone who will stick with you through the good, the bad and the ugly.

I’ve been married to my beloved for two years and I’ve known him for nearly eight. He has seen me go from being a wandering indecisive soul who had no idea what she wanted in life, to a loving wife and a mother. He’s been there every step of the way through our rough pregnancy and was right behind my head holding my hand during our son’s emergency c-section. He’s my rock and my support through everything.

One of the best days ever!


Take care of yourself.

Take a bath and relax. Lay in bed and listen to your favorite album. Even as a busy housewife I need to take a breather every so often and de-stress. My husband is fantastic at letting me have alone time so I can take it easy for a bit; I’d sure go crazy without it!

Take life day by day.

And please, take it all in and enjoy it. It doesn’t feel possible that I’m turning twenty five and that I’ve accomplished as much as I have. Life moves so fast- it’s so important to slow down and enjoy it.

One thought on “Twenty-Five Candles 

Leave a Reply

