Parenting · Reviews

The Breastfeeding Mama’s Must Haves

As a new mother breastfeeding can be a whole new world that can be incredibly overwhelming. I read numerous lists of must haves and even checked Pinterest for suggestions of what to put on my baby registry. Now I know that this may be just another list you’ll read through but trust me ladies- these suggestions are tested out and highly recommended by yours truly.

Photo from Target.com
Boppy Nursing Pillow

($29.99 at Target)

The Boppy was the very first item I added to my baby registry. I’ve seen reviews that the C-shaped pillow was ideal for getting your little one’s mouth to nipple level and it offers comfort and support while nursing or bottle feeding.
I had Adam grab the Boppy from home when he brought my overnight bag to the hospital. I was so nervous and clumsy when I started nursing. Having it to help keep baby in place as we tried out various nursing positions was exactly what we needed. 11 months later we’ve slowed down using the pillow but I occasionally use it to nap on the couch. Bonus- Boppy offers covers in many adorable patterns and colors!

Photo from Target.com
WellMom Coconut Oil Nipple Balm

($9.99 at Target)

Nothing is worse than having dry nipples! The constant nursing or pumping can really do a number on them. I apply just a small amount a few times a day. I’ve tried a few brands of nipple balm and lanolin but nothing has compared to this brand’s balm. I love that it’s organic and that it’s free of lanolin, petroleum, paraben, gluten and GMOs. I’m a fan of this brand in general (read my reviews here) but I’ve tried many of their products and they really are an outstanding company.

Photo from Target.com
Lansinoh Therapearl 3-IN-1 Breast Therapy

($11.19 at Target)
Heat the gel packs up in the microwave for a few seconds and lay them on your chest when you start pumping. The heat helps work out plugged ducts and can provide relief with mastitis. You also can put them in the fridge to cool them to help with engorgement. I wish I would have found these when my milk was first coming in! Both the hot and cold therapies are so soothing. Thankfully I haven’t had a case of mastitis during my nursing journey but I’ve worked out a few rough clogs with the help of the packs.

Photo from Target.com
Ovaltine in Classic Malt or Chocolate Malt Mix 12 oz

($3.89 at Target)
Have you seen the movie A Christmas Story? Remember when poor Ralphie rushes to the bathroom to decode the message from Little Orphan Annie with his secret decoder ring only to find out it says, “Be sure to drink your Ovaltine?” Yeah I’m talking about that Ovaltine, except it probably taste better than it did back in the 1940s.

Mix a little or a lot with a glass of milk and soon enough it may give your supply a temporary boost. Ovaltine tastes fantastic, it’s like you’re drinking a glass of Whopper’s candy. The magical milk boosting ingredient is malt, so make sure you don’t accidentally purchase the rich chocolate flavor as it won’t do anything for you.

Image from Breastbottleandbeyond.com
Breast, Bottle and Beyond (Support Group)

The most important necessity any breastfeeding mama need is support. I highly recommend joining a breastfeeding support group on Facebook to ask your questions and get support from other mamas just like you. I’ve joined quite a few groups through out my pregnancy and as Connor has grown and I’ve noticed that there are a lot of judgmental group owners and drama. I’ve fortunately stumbled onto the group Breast, Bottle and Beyond. It’s truly unlike any other mom group I’ve been in. Everyone is so supportive of each other’s unique journey. I feel like I’m in a group of my personal friends when I’m on the page and I’ve met incredible women that I call my friends.

What are your top necessities for breastfeeding? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

