Recipes

Chocolate & Butterscotch Cake Batter Cookies

Every so often my sweet tooth starts up and I have a mad craving for cookies. Once the mood strikes I surf the pins of Pinterest until I land on a cookie recipe that is drool-worthy. I stumbled upon the blog Sally’s Baking Addiction (check her out if you haven’t before, she’s brilliant!) and the first recipe that caught my eye was her Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies. Using the inspiration from her recipe, I changed it up to make it my own: chocolate & butterscotch cake batter cookies. Grab your supplies and let’s get baking!

I start by gathering all of the ingredients. I find it easier to pre-portion everything out ahead of time. 

In a medium size bowl, I whisked together the cake mix, flour and baking soda. Once thoroughly combined I set it aside. Next, using a hand mixer I creamed the butter with granulated sugar and brown sugar together on a medium speed until everything was looking smooth. Does anyone else get the urge to try a little of this sugar butter mix? Seems gross but yes, I tried it. Way too delicious!

Next I added the eggs and vanilla. A trick I learned from Sally’s Baking Addiction is to use a whole egg and an egg yolk as it adds extra moisture and makes your cookies more chewy. I used my handy dandy egg separator to achieve the trick. Once I added the eggs, I poured in the vanilla and mixed on high for about a minute until it was completely combined. 


Slowly I began to add the dry mix in with the wet ingredients on a lower to medium speed and finished it by mixing in the butterscotch chips. Once the dough looked ready to go I snuck a spoonful in my mouth, it tasted like absolute heaven!

I covered the bowl with plastic wrap and set it in the fridge to chill. It’s so important to chill your dough as the dough sticky and if you bake it right away the cookies will spread on the cookie sheet.

The next day after I came home from work I couldn’t wait to try my cookie creation! I set the oven to 350 degrees and rolled my dough into round balls. I found that baking them for 11 minutes was the right amount of time for my oven. After taking them out and letting them cool down, I ate my first cookie; it was absolutely delicious! The mix of chocolate and butterscotch satisfied my sweet tooth. In fact as I’m writing this, I’m snacking on a few cookies.
So there you have it! Try not to eat them all in one day, I know it’s a struggle!

Chocolate & Butterscotch Cake Batter Cookies

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

You will need:
* 1 & 1/4 cup boxed chocolate cake mix (You’ll need just the dry mix)
* 1 & 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

* 3/4 cup unsalted butter (1.5 sticks), softened to room temperature 

* 1/2 cup granulated sugar

* 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

* 2 eggs, at room temperature (you’ll use 1 egg and 1 egg yolk)

* 1 & 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

* 1 & 1/2 – 2 cups butterscotch chips (depending on if you want a ton of chips like I did!)
Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, sift (or whisk) together chocolate cake mix, flour and baking soda. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, using a hand mixer or a standing mixer with paddle attachment, cream the soften butter with the granulated sugar and the light brown sugar on a medium speed until smooth.

3. Add the egg and egg yolk to the mix. Mix on high for a minute. 

4. Add vanilla and beat on high until well combined. 

5. Slowly add in flour mixture to the wet mixture on a low to medium speed until throughly mixed in. 

6. Lastly add butterscotch chips. Mix on low until the chips looks evenly distributed. 

Cover dough with plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge for a minimum of 2 hours or up to 3-4 days. 
7. After dough has been chilled, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. 

8. Roll dough into balls (ideal size is about 1.5 tablespoons) and place on the cookie sheet. 

9. Bake cookies for 10-12 minutes, until edges are slightly brown. The centers will seems undone but will set while they are cooling. 

10. Allow the cookies to cool and transfer to a wire rack to completely cool. 

Leave a Reply

