Life

Reaching Your Goals In 2017

There’s just something about starting fresh in a new year. You’re able to reflect over the past year and think about changes you’d like to make. Selecting new years resolutions can be easy to make, but hard to achieve. In fact, on average 40% of Americans make new year’s resolutions, but only 8% actually achieve it. This year though, lets try a different method of choosing resolutions and reaching them.

 

Start by choosing your resolution.

Are you wanting to lose weight? How about travel more? Or maybe you want to go back to school? Whatever you resolution is, make sure its something that you feel passionate about and are willing to put the time and effort into. Sit down and write down a list of possible resolutions that you want to work towards. Think about each item on your list and cut it down to one or two that you feel would benefit your life the most.

Write out a plan. 

Now that you have your resolution, how are you going to achieve it? Do you need to get a gym membership or start saving money? Start by writing down a list of each step you will need to take to reach your goal. Assign steps to each month and set a timeline. What resources and skills will you need to achieve your goal? Say you want to start losing weight. Start January by making it a goal to get a gym membership by January 5th and seeing a personal trainer by January 30th. Then in February, make it a goal to hit the gym 4 times a week and start a class. Make sure you have a complete plan for reaching your goal; without it you might fail.

Get up and get started. 

It’s easy to write your plan out, but putting it into action is the hard part. Motivate yourself to get up and get going on your goal. Are you wanting to learn how to paint? Call the studio and make an appointment. Planning to start your own Etsy business? Get on the website and figure it out. The power is in your hands!

Keep Yourself Accountable

Do you have a friend who is going for the same goal as you are? This would be a perfect opportunity to to keep each other accountable. Find someone who will keep you on the track to success. You could also ask a family member or join an online support group of people with the same mission as you.

Stay motivated and celebrate your successes.

With the holidays and unexpected events through out the year, its easy to lose sight of your plan. Keep reminders around the house, such as post it notes with your goal or leave reminders in your planner. As you take steps towards your goal, celebrate every little success. Did you lose 5 pounds? Treat yourself! Did you register for classes? Celebrate with night out!

With these steps and your effort, you will be in the 8% who achieves their resolution in 2017. Remember to put your mind to it, you’ve got this!

Do you have any new year’s resolutions? 

 

19 thoughts on “Reaching Your Goals In 2017

  1. Yay! I think I’ve seen this post of yours on Instagram as well, and I just love it. I always set goals for myself every year, and it is always a toss up if I will make it or not, but I always have an adventure trying new things. I also just love your example list. I am tempted to try for some of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t really make resolutions. I do have goals, but they aren’t anything nuts. For instance, I could never give up soda. But I AM trying to build my blog. If I work hard, I think I can do that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes! We need to plan how to meet goals and hold ourselves accountable. You can’t just make a resolution and hope it will happen, you have to make things happen! I love this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this list. Very inspiring! I don’t have many in my list but I really want to spend more time with my two year old and make every moment a happier one for him. I also want to focus on taking care of myself more just because I’ve realized without loving your own self, it’s hard to make others happy. đŸ™‚ Happy new year to you! May all of your goals be your best successes!

    http://www.hugshomemade.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t really have a resolution per say but a goal: that’s to keep up the momentum on my blog that I have had for the last little bit. Stay organized, and just focus on me (rather then comparing). Happy New year! Btw love the great resolution ideas! I would love one day to tackle 100 books in a year!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great ideas! My New Years resolution is to lose 30lbs lol. I’ve already created a 12 week plan (I’ve read it’s better to break your goals into quarterly plans, I guess I’ll test it out).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

