Parenting

How To Conquer Morning Sickness

There’s nothing like the excitement of finding out you are expecting! You start thinking up names, wonder if you’re having a boy or a girl; nothing can hinder this moment. Well, almost nothing… unless you have a case of the dreaded morning sickness. More often than not, morning sickness can strike any time of the day, not just in the AM.  Morning sickness is when you have nausea or vomiting during your pregnancy, and it can start as early at four weeks pregnant; and let me tell you, it can make you miserable!

I was one of the unfortunate few who had morning sickness their ENTIRE pregnancy. I  quickly  Googled what methods of fast relief I could get my hands on. Here I’ve compiled a list of my most effective methods to help you out if you’re struggling with morning sickness.

First, make sure you are doing the following:

  • Drinking plenty of water
  • Keeping your stomach full (Eat first thing in the morning!)
  • Avoid fatty foods
  • Eat small meals frequently
  • Stay Active

If you’re still feeling sick, try one of these options:

Preggie Pop Drops 

If you enjoy hard candy, give Preggie Pop Drops a try. I’d pop a piece in my mouth and lay down when I would feel really queasy. Preggie Pop Drops are made with a mix of essential oils and the delicious fruity flavors tasted great (especially the sour raspberry!)

Morning Wellness Tea

When you are feeling sick to your stomach and food doesn’t sound appetizing at all, give a cup of a tea a try. I love Earth Mama Angel Baby Organic Morning Wellness Tea, as it has a mix of ginger, peppermint, chamomile, and lemon with a hit of orange. The mix helps settle your stomach fast.

B6 and Unisom

My doctor first suggested this combo to combat morning sickness. Before bed, take a dose of Unisom and B6, which can easily be found at any drugstore. The active ingredient diphenhydramine mixed with B6 helps your body avoid nausea. Don’t forget to talk to you doctor first before taking any over the counter medications.

Diclegis

My doctor didn’t mention Diclegis until the beginning of my third trimester, and I really wish she would have in the beginning! Diclegis is a prescribed mediation that helps settle morning sickness symptoms  and has a category A rating for mom and baby. The ingredients are similar to taking B6 and Unisom, but a much stronger dose. As long as I took Diclegis every morning, my symptoms were barely noticeable. The medication can cost a pretty penny, so I recommend asking your doctor for samples before you pick up your prescription.

Just remember mama, morning sickness isn’t forever. Once your little one arrives, you’ll forget all about nausea it took to get to this moment!

Leave a Reply

